Motion infographics – Step aside PowerPoint!

To get your message across about statistics, figures and trends isn’t always the easiest this to do, especially with the dreaded PowerPoint.

In a recent work meeting an agency produced a few animated infographics that looked bloody amazing. Animated infographics are a great way to really bring tedious charts and figures to life.

If you’re not familiar to what an animated infographic is here’s definition from Wikipedia. Check out my Social media article, it’s got a classic animated infographic at the end.

Information graphics or infographics are graphic visual representations of information, data or knowledge. They are universally understandable, stand alone and are completely self-explanatory.

Infographics , in motion or static, will always grasp your attention with their objective way of presenting information. Hands up who would rather see on of these than a boring PowerPoint slide!

With my new-found love of animated infographics, I thought I’d do a round-up of the best ones I’ve seen on the web.

1. The Crisis of Credit Visualised

I thought this one was pretty good considering the state of the economy at the moment. Jonathan Jarvis does a great job at making a sometimes complicated issue easy to understand and accessible.

2. Little red riding hood

“My, what big charts you have Grandma! “

I absolutely love this one. I was created by Tomas Nilsson as a school assignment to reinterpret the fairytale ‘Little red riding hood’ he’s done a great job!

3. Stuxnet: Anatomy of a computer virus

I think this motion infographic has got to be on of the best I’ve seen. I was done by Patrick Clair and looks Stuxnet, the first weapon made entirely out of code.

4. Performance enhancement

Seeing as I’m quite a sport person and suprisingly looking forward to the olympics this year, I thought Performance Enhancement from Kenichi on Vimeo was pretty cool. The theme is performance enhancement using blood doping.

5. The state of the internet

JESS3 designed and animated this infographic for their lecture at Stevenson University for AIGA Baltimore in Feb 2010.

So that’s 5 of the best motion infographics I’ve seen, there are probably plenty more out there so feel free to let me know of any good ones. Also, if you know how to create these little beauties, get in touch with me I’d love to learn!

Leave a Reply

