Nike football adverts – 5 of the best

Nike does it again with their Euro 2012 advert, but what about all the others before this?

Nike is always ‘on the ball’ when it comes to their TV ads. During last weekend’s Champions League final, between Bayern Munich and Chelsea, I saw the latest Nike advert for Euro 2012 and it didn’t disappoint. In this one nearly every decent Nike sponsored footballers under the sun are featured. A lot of this seasons young talent is given a look in too. It’s shame they could include a sneaky cameo for Eric Cantona.

Time and time again Nike seems to just get it right in visualising what the sport means to a lot of football supporters and players alike. They perfectly portray the dedication, fight, spirit and passion that make football the global sport it is today.

So as I’m such a fan of these Nike football adverts, I thought I’d give a rundown of my top 5.

5. Brazil at the airport

So first up I’ve got ‘Brazil at the airport’. This one is before Ronaldo let himself go and was one of the best strikers in the world. I loved this as it just showed the Brazil team making football look effortless.

4. The mission

My little brother and I  tried to recreate this one in the living room. As you can imagine it didn’t go down well. “No, it’s rounder!” Nike used this ad to promote their new ’rounder’ football, a lot of legends in this one too. Nike pushed the envelope in this one make it a mini film.

3. The cage

This ad arguably has the best football generation involved. I loved this one not just because of the ad, but because of all the supporting marketing that went with it, both off and online. The Nike store in Oxford street was heaven during the time this ad ran.

2. Write the future – World cup 2010

It was a tough choice puting this second. Nike really stepped their football ads up with this one. It reminds me of the 300 film, and really visualises the highs and lows that supporting your country through a World cup can bring. PS I’d destroy Wayne Rooney at table tennis.

1. Take it to the next level

Without a doubt this has got to be the dream for any amateur footballer. Playing a blinder on a Sunday, then getting scouted by Arsene Wenger and playing for Arsenal. If you’ve seen this ad you know the rest, if not ENJOY!

There are plenty other Nike ads I could have added to this, let me know any that I’ve missed, I love a good debate. Anyway, Here’s a cheeky one with Mario ‘Why always me’ Balotelli.

6 responses to “Nike football adverts – 5 of the best

  1. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation but I to find this topic to be really one thing which I believe I would by no means understand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely large for me. I am looking ahead to your next submit, I’ll try to get the dangle of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

